VIVA LA MEXICO!

Well Yall!! I am back and guess what?!! I am going to Mexico!! I am so excited!! I have been researching a weight loss surgeon in Mexico named Dr. Elias Ortiz. He has a company called EOC (Elias Ortiz Company). It is awesome. The facility is beautiful and the price is perfect for me to afford. Sean and I will be traveling to San Diego on the 11th of May. We will stay at a hotel then be picked up by the EOC shuttle vans. The driver will take us into Mexico. We will go to the Hospital and get my bloodwork, a CT and EKG then off to the Grand Hotel. we will stay there that night and then its surgery day!! On the 13th I will have surgery. I am having the RNY surgery. Dr Ortiz does do sleeve procedures but I want the RNY. I know a few people that have had the sleeve procedure and it has worked great for them , I also know some that didn’t lose at all.

Whats difference between a sleeve and the RNY Gastric Bypass? The sleeve procedure makes the stomach into a long sleeve shaped tube, the majority of the stomach is removed. food passes through the new stomach tube directly into the intestines. nutrients are absorbed from the food as normal. It also makes the patient feel fuller sooner and longer. It does not alter the way food moves through the GI tract.

The RNY Gastric Bypass shortens the digestive tract and restricts food intake. The stomach is made into a small pouch from the upper portion of the stomach. Then the intestine is surgically connected to the pouch. This is where food can move through. The remaining stomach portion and intestine is bypassed. This procedure limits food intake, reduces calories, and nutrients absorbed from food. Most keep the weight off for long term. It is the only procedure that gives immediate feedback if you eat things you shouldnt like concentrated sweets. Sweets are my biggest problem.

So, what is the major draw when it comes to medical tourism? Why are so many people flocking to places like Tijuana to get the treatment they need and deserve? One of the main reasons why people – especially those from the U.S. – travel abroad for care is the cost. Due to the cost of living being less in Tijuana, it allows them to provide quality medical services at a significantly lower cost than we might find in the states. The cost is about 50% less than it would be in the United States. The mexican government has prioritized the development of medical care in the country. As a result, Mexico now boasts of state of the art hospitals and surgery centers, which are led by highly qualified medical professionals. 

Tijuana

I will be posting here thru my whole journey. I am thinking about doing a video blog on YouTube of my trip. What do you thinking? I am so very excited. I am already watching what I eat. I am trying to bring my BMI down before surgery. My BMI is currently 50.68. I would like it to be under 50. I will be starting my pre op diet on April 29th Seans birthday , that should be fun! The pre op diet is to help shrink the liver if it’s fatty. Which I am sure it is as I am a fatty….lol. I will explain the pre op diet specifics in a later blog.

Thanks for reading! Be back tomorrow!

Leave a comment