Almost Time, Start your pre-op!

Hey yall!

So May 13th is the surgery day!! I so excited and anxious all at the same time. Getting everything in order, buying things for pre-op diet. The pre op diet is to help shrink the liver of its fatty. Gets it out of the way during the surgery.

The pre-op diet really consists of clean and green eating, 3 protein shakes daily and all the salads (with fat free dressing), NON-starchy vegetables (e.g. carrots, celery, zucchini, broccoli, cauliflower, radishes, onions), and approved soups (e.g. tomato basil, sacred heart, egg roll) that I want. I have to count meat or lean protein that I add to the soup – 6 oz daily for women and 8 oz daily for men. I can have unlimited sugar-free popsicles, sugar-free JELL-O, Powerade Zero, teas, broths, and zero calorie flavored waters.

Clear Liquids star 3 days before surgery. During the clear liquids diet, I can have no sugar added juices that are diluted, sugar-free popsicles, sugar-free JELL-O, teas, broths, zero calorie flavored waters, etc. Surgery day counts as the third day of the clear liquids diet.

With the protein shakes I should have two or three protein shakes per day. Each drink can contain at least 15 to 20 grams of protein per serving. The amount of sugar should be less than half the amount of grams of protein. For example, if the drink has 20 grams of protein, it should have less than 10 grams of sugar or carbs.

I could make my own protein shakes with unsweetened or lite vanilla almond milk, lite soy milk, or lite rice milk. Can not use regular milk, as it has too much sugar. I can use professionally prepared protein shakes if they meet the same requirements for grams of protein, calories, sugars, etc.

I can have two servings of 3 to 4 oz of a lean protein per day (e.g. chicken, turkey, fish, salmon, shrimp, scallops, 2 eggs, tofu(yuck), 1/2 cup of beans. I should also have one or two servings of a healthy fat per day (e.g. salad dressing, olive oil, olives). Using salad dressings sparingly. I can dilute them with water or skim milk if needed.

I can have as much salad as I want, but I need to use salad dressings sparingly.

Absolutely NO bread, rice, pasta, potatoes, sweet potatoes, yams, cereals, oatmeal, popcorn, refined grains, corn, peas, or sauces with sugar.

Three days before surgery, so the 10th I will start my clear liquids only diet. After all the food is done that day I will take a laxative. Then it’s clear liquids on out. This should be interesting for sure. I am so excited and so incredibly anxious just to get it done and over. So I can be on to taking my life back from food.

Thanks for reading!

Be back soon

Leave a comment